My Dad’s Birthday

I always buy flowers today.  Its my dad’s birthday, February 27th.  His gravesite is still buried under a pile of snow and a nine-hour drive away.  So, I buy some flowers for Chez Christine.  Today I found some miniature red roses in two tiny, yellow, metal pails with the word “FLEURS” on each one.  My dad loved his roses and they were always well cared for.  I miss him.  He has missed so much.  I know he would still be alive, but perhaps not living as he’d like.  Who knows if he made the correct decision?    The people left behind in a suicide suffer for a very long time.  I guess I’ve come to some peace about it.  He never wanted to be “sick” and have to be cared for.  But, he couldn’t have known how really difficult it would be for all of us.

“Happy Birthday, Daddy.  Can you see us from there?  I still love you very much and I’m still waiting for you in my dreams.”

~ by chezchristineo on February 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
