Letting Go of a Life, Part 1

Joe Anne Lucretia (Donahue) Reed

Joe Anne Lucretia (Donahue) Reed

Sitting here in the dark at my mother’s house.  The whole family is asleep at last, including my granddaughter, Berkley.  She’s three.  And she’s had a confusing three days.  I feel like throwing a little late night fit myself.  But I’ll just write.  I need to release some thoughts….

My mother passed away last week.  My deepest sadness and biggest challenge is letting go of the people I love.  We picked a method we knew our mother would love:  an Irish Wake.  After her graveside services, we invited everyone to the Hailey Senior Center.  We planned on 50 people; almost 100 people came.  She was truly loved and didn’t even know it!

My sister-in-law, Vanessa, created some beautiful and touching slide shows.  The Boulder Brothers, an Irish group, played at the wake.  We cried; we laughed; we (some of us girls and Berkley) danced.  Oh, and we had a few drinks, as is fitting for a proper Irish Wake.

The official wake ended at 6, but the party continued at Mom’s.  She has a big house.  Twenty-five people, trying to have fun, filled the house with the ruckus and laughter that she loved.  And, my son Blake, brought his Wii for quite the entertainment package!  The party went very late.

But now its quiet.

~ by chezchristineo on March 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “Letting Go of a Life, Part 1”

  1. Hi Chez Christineo, I am glad you are putting some of your thoughts and feelings in your blog. It is so nice to have you share them with us. What beautiful pictures of your Mom and of your Mom and Dad together. I can see you in her clearly in the one picture.
    Some day I will be going through what you are, and your wisdom will help a great deal. It is a sadness that can only be experienced when it happens. I am glad to see you look at your feeling….good…and see it fade away for the time being. If we can hang on to the truth that everything passes, maybe it will be of comfort when we are in the throes of sadness. I think tears are the souls expression and are to be honored.

    One thing that really struck me was your saying that she was loved be so many and didn’t know it. I am here to tell you a truth. Now listen with your heart….ready? Ok, you will never know how many lives you have touched and how much joy have have inspired in all those many children that will grow up remembering Mrs. Owens’ art class. You will never know the happiness and joy that those of us who have been lucky enough to receive and buy some of your art work have in many, many quiet moments. When I look around my home, it is full of Christie Love. I put Christie Love around my neck to keep me warm in winter. All your creations give love and remind us of you all the time. And you never know it. So REJOICE!! You are loved by so many…..not to mention all the Light Beings that surround you and support you. Just fall out of your mind and into your heart any time you want to connect with those who aren’t with you physically.
    I love you very much….Kathy

    • Thank you, Kathy. You are an angel! Your words are such a comfort…you are a great sister and I am so happy to be part of your family.

      • Kathy, you still there? Its been many years since your kind comments. We have just celebrated Thanksgiving and I am missing the people who have moved on. And I have retired and missing my students. Your words are a comfort. I will now go and try to “fall out of my mind and into my heart.” Thanks, again.

Leave a Reply

 
