Progression of an Artwork V

Abbaye Royale Day 3 and 4

Abbaye Royale Day 3 and 4

Such a delicate value study is getting more complicated!  My thoughts exactly?  Aargh!

Day 3 ended with such frustration that NO picture was taken AND I wanted to throw a sheet over the whole mess!  (I’ve seen that on old studio photos of artists!  Now I understand why.)  Chosing to continue looking and contemplating the errors, I left the painting on the easel…out in the open…where my friends could see it.  Luckily, only one friend arrived and said she didn’t know anything about painting, so don’t ask her opinion.  Okay, fine.

Today, having decided on a path of repair, I covered the offending colors with a thin light blue, then lifted the fresh paint out where the shadows needed to deepen…rather than appear flat.  I think it worked.  Still, I am not satisfied with the colors.  I want it to be “clean, pure, filled with light and inspiration.”  Complicated.

Stay tuned for more “repairs….”

~ by chezchristineo on September 29, 2009.

One Response to “Progression of an Artwork V”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

 
