Progression of an Artwork, VI

Heard of artist’s block?  I’ve created a monster with my painting of the Abbaye Royale and haven’t figured out how to get past it.  I haven’t painted.  Can’t.  Won’t.  But I know I will.  It’s inevitable, but when?  Art is a spiritual medicine for me and I’m slowly starving. 

Such a dilemma is hard to explain.  Fear, embarrassment, guilt.  And hope.  Baby steps are required.  I tell myself to turn this painting toward a different direction, loosen it up, have fun with it.  But I’m stubborn.  I see what I want and it’s not “loose.”  Friends have suggested starting something new, just get my brushes flowing, singing my music again.  I may have to take that advice if I want to move forward.  For now I’m finding my creativity in other places: my elementary school art position, jewelry, sewing.  Perhaps the writing will propel me into an action.  I guess you’re getting a real taste of the process….

~ by chezchristineo on January 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
