I’m Here, in This Quiet Power

An artist is always dreaming, and often acting on that dream. Lately, I’ve been spending more time in the quiet space that reveals the heart, instead of in the mind that is always pushing and struggling. I like it better here. I hear better. I listen better. I think the world needs more listeners. And I am painting because I want to paint, not to generate money.

Last week I heard a poem that was so revealing of my space that it touched my heart; it encompassed years of longing to connect. It’s here for you, too.

The Quiet Power

I walked backwards, against time
and that’s where I caught the moon,
singing at me.
I steeped downwards, into my seat
and that’s where I caught freedom,
waiting for me, like a lilac.
I ended thought, and I ended story.
I stopped designing, and arguing, and
sculpting a happy life.
I didn’t die. I didn’t turn to dust.
Instead I chopped vegetables,
and made a calm lake in me
where the water was clear and sourced and still.
And when the ones I loved came to it,
I had something to give them, and
it offered them a soft road out of pain.
I became beloved.
And I came to know that this was it.
The quiet power.
I could give something mighty, lasting,
that stopped the wheel of chaos,
by tending to the river inside,
keeping the water rich and deep,
keeping a bench for you to visit.

~I don’t know the author. Do you?

Lilacs

    “Sweet Memories” 6×6″ $60.00 on Etsy.com

~ by chezchristineo on March 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
