Sold Before the Paint was Dry

Bryan signed fixed 1

It’s every artist’s dream: To sell a painting the day it’s finished! Yes, it happened. One of the paintings in my art exhibit sold and the buyer wants it now, so I began another painting to fill the empty space…and now THAT one needs to be replaced. Lucky for me that this new buyer wants a person-to-person delivery in a month or two.

And what a painting it is. I undertook this challenge for three reasons:

  1. I am completely fascinated by the photo that my nephew, Bryan, took of himself on the beach in Oregon. I have a previous blog written about it. I simply had to paint it.
  2. I love a challenge! I wanted to prove to my Self that I CAN paint a realistic figure.
  3. My nephew is dying from ALS. There is a bit of urgency to this one. I wanted him to see it.

Bryan’s father bought it immediately upon receiving a photo in an email. The beach is by his home. My heart breaks every time I think of Bryan, living the last of his days bravely and with good humor. I am happy that it is staying in the family.

~ by chezchristineo on November 1, 2018.

2 Responses to “Sold Before the Paint was Dry”

  1. Your talent is a gift to everyone one who sees it! This may be one of your most important works….to be able to capture his image and life essence when he will be taken from those who love him, what a bittersweet challenge. You are a wonder, my friend❣️

  2. Thank you, Cindy. ❤

Leave a comment