Woodland Gardening

A colorful woodland garden....

A colorful woodland garden....

Oh, yes!  Only in my fantasies does such a beautiful woodland garden exist!  Some people have a green thumb.  I don’t, but I try.  Unfortunately, I also have another problem:  free-ranging deer.  The deer are beautiful and we love to watch them.  We live in the woods so that we CAN watch them.  But, they EAT beautiful woodland gardens…..

Until last year, nothing bloomed in my yard except the iris and the Oregon Grape.  The deer left the Lily of Valley alone and the wild roses.  But, oh, they loved everything else I planted, even the ivy…like a candy store for their personal delight. 

And then, a friend told me about a product called Plantskidd Repellent!  It’s organic, non-toxic, not harmful to animals or the environment and has no synthetic additives.  Of course, you don’t want to ingest it or leave the bottle within the reach of children or pets.  Why?  Well, it is organic, but I don’t think its “that” kind of organic.  It works “by emitting an odor that animals associate with predator activity, repelling the animal before it nibbles on plants.”  “The ‘active’ ingredient is dried blood (porcine and/or bovine)-recognized by the EPA as an environmentally safe ingredient.”  Nope, don’t want to eat that…or put it on my fruit & vegy plants either.

So, this week I happily ran out to Huckleberry’s on Hwy 95 and Lancaster Road in Hayden, Idaho.  Yes, last year I actually had some color on my woodland lot.  And I had roses, too!  Our yard will never be as beautiful as the one in my dreams, but I can now have some color…and, as an artist, that is enough…for now.

If you live in the North Idaho area, stop in at Huckleberry’s.  It really works!  If not, visit this website to locate a store that carries the product:  http://www.plantskydd.com/

~ by chezchristineo on May 31, 2009.

Leave a comment