My Husband is Retiring

Well, now what?  A new page in the book is ready to be written!  Like Natasha Bedington’s song “Unwritten,” we don’t really know how this will turn out, but we’ve been looking forward to it for a long time.  Now we can take a vacation in the middle of the school year!  Oh, yes, someplace tropical is calling us!!!

Teaching has been a good career for my husband, Merrill.  We didn’t get rich, but we are living on a mountainside in Coeur d’Alene with a view of our beautiful lake.  We can say that we’ve contributed something good to the world and helped a lot of kids.  We accounted for every penny when we were first married and its paid off.  The stock market has destroyed some of our dreams, but we are confident that we’ll be okay in a few years.  I’m still teaching, so we’re not going to worry…just enjoy.

Today is his retirement party, given by his teaching friends.  Looks like a big one…he’s a very likable guy…of course I would say that.  We have dibs on the tent trailer so that I can split when the guys get to talking about their fishing and hunting….  I can only listen for a certain amount of time and then my eyes glaze over…something like when I talk about France around his friends.

In August we’ll go on a float trip on the Salmon River with our college buddies from ISU…good, fun years.  Like the years ahead!

~ by chezchristineo on June 6, 2009.

Leave a comment